[3] Hunter-gatherer behavior

In the remote past, human beings lived from the food that nature provides. This food was sparsely distributed and thus it required intelligent search or hunting strategies to get it. As the success of a food-gathering excursion was not guaranteed, such people had to store any extra (surplus) food in reservoirs, such as their own body or a safe place at home. Many of us still show hunter-gatherer behavior, in particular when information food (compare [2]) is concerned. We surf the Web and bookmark and download whatever might become useful at a later time. We have not properly adapted to the new situation that (information) food is not rare any longer. It remains available in the Web forever, and, thanks to ever better search engines, it can be accessed quickly when the concrete need arises (And just as overeating can lead to a fat, less mobile body, an uncontrolled information in-take may on the long run result in an immobile mind – excuse my little joke).

9 Responses to “[3] Hunter-gatherer behavior”


  1. 1 Nathaniel Thurston September 8, 2009 at 15:09

    Interesting. This suggests that we should care what prospective friends are reading/listening to/watching. If, for example, they are overfed on limbaugh et al, then we shouldn’t expect to be able to make a dent in their convictions unless their basic “dietary” habits change.

  2. 2 diet January 4, 2013 at 13:12

    Great post. I am facing many of these issues
    as well..

  3. 3 Edgar April 24, 2013 at 11:04

    hi!,I really like your writing so so much! percentage we keep in touch more about your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this house to unravel my problem.

    Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to look you.

  4. 4 having hemorrhoids April 28, 2013 at 00:51

    Definitely imagine that that you stated. Your favourite justification seemed to
    be at the internet the easiest thing to be mindful of. I say to you, I
    definitely get irked at the same time as
    people think about concerns that they plainly do not
    understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and
    also outlined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more.

    Thanks

  5. 5 hemorroides May 3, 2013 at 02:52

    It’s remarkable to visit this website and reading the views of all friends on the topic of this article, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

  6. 6 Wilbert May 3, 2013 at 07:44

    Very good blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

    • 7 Claus Metzner May 15, 2013 at 08:48

      Hi Wilbert,

      thanks for your comment and sorry for my very late reply. As for my tips, I think the only way to become better in writing is to write and publish regularly, no matter how little. This doesn’t work for me, unfortunately, because I feel that I cannot afford any extra self-made pressure besides my job. So I almost stopped blogging in recent years, except during extended holidays. Personally, I would never pay for a blogging platform, but rather choose one of the free and simple-to-use options, such as tumblr.

      Let me know when you started your own blog.

      Best regards,

      Claus.

  7. 8 Mittel gegen NagelpilzNagelpilz Bilder May 17, 2013 at 23:01

    It is the best time to make a few plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if I may just I want to recommend you few interesting things
    or tips. Maybe you could write next articles regarding
    this article. I wish to read more issues approximately it!

  8. 9 Kreisrunder Haarausfall May 21, 2013 at 22:33

    Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clarity
    for your submit is simply excellent and that i could think you are knowledgeable on this subject.
    Fine along with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to keep up to date with approaching post.
    Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.


Leave a Reply

